We’re building you a better National Library

From now till mid-January building works to improve the façade of the library will be underway. Just follow the signs posted near the front for the alternative entry and exit path during this time.

Christmas and New Year

Our opening hours over the Christmas and New Year period will be in place from Monday 18 December 2017 until Sunday 7 January 2018. Regular opening hours resume on Monday 8 January 2018.

Opening hoursMain Reading Room and Special Collections Reading RoomAsian Collections Reading RoomGalleriesBookplate caféBookshop
Monday 18 - Thursday 21 December10am–8pm10am-5pm10am-5pm9am–4pm9am-5pm
Friday 22 December10am–5pm10am-5pm10am-5pm9am–4pm9am-5pm
Saturday 23 December10am–5pmClosed10am-5pm9am-4pm9am-5pm
Sunday 24 December1.30pm-5pm (MRR only)Closed10am-5pm9am-4pm9am-5pm
Monday 25 DecemberClosedClosedClosedClosedClosed
Tuesday 26 DecemberClosedClosed10am-5pm10am-3pm9am-5pm
Wednesday 27 - Friday 29 DecemberClosedClosed10am-5pm10am-4pm9am-5pm
Saturday 30 - Sunday 31 DecemberClosedClosed10am-5pm9am-4pm9am-5pm
Monday 1 JanuaryClosedClosed10am-5pm10am-3pm9am-5pm
Tuesday 2 - Thursday 4 January10am-8pm10am-5pm10am-5pm9am–4pm9am-5pm
Friday 5 January10am–5pm10am-5pm10am-5pm9am–4pm9am-5pm
Saturday 6 January10am–5pmClosed10am-5pm9am–4pm9am-5pm
Sunday 7 January1.30pm-5pm (MRR only)Closed10am-5pm9am–4pm9am-5pm

Collection deliveries to reading rooms

Any requests made from Sunday 17 December 2017 will be kept on the reading room reserve shelves until Wednesday 10 January 2018.

Collection deliveries resume on Tuesday 2 January 2018. There are no collection deliveries on weekends.

Paperplate café

Paperplate café to close at 3pm Friday 15 December 2017 and reopen at 8.30am on Monday 8 January 2018.

Regular opening hours

Main Reading Room

DayOpening hours
Monday to Thursday10am to 8pm
Friday to Saturday*10am to 5pm
Sunday*1.30pm to 5pm
Public holidaysClosed

* No collection deliveries on weekends

Special Collections and Petherick Reading Room

DayOpening hours
Monday to Thursday10am to 8pm
Friday to Saturday*10am to 5pm
Sunday and public holidaysClosed

* No collection deliveries on Saturday

Asian Collections Reading Room

DayOpening hours
Monday to Friday10am to 5pm
Weekends and public holidaysClosed

Treasures Gallery and Exhibition Gallery

DayOpening hours
Daily10am to 5pm
Good FridayClosed
Christmas DayClosed

Bookshop

DayOpening hours
Daily9am to 5pm
Good FridayClosed
Christmas DayClosed

Cafés

bookplate

DayOpening hours
Monday to Thursday7.30am to 5pm
Friday7.30am to 4pm
Saturday and Sunday9am to 4pm

paperplate

DayOpening hours
Monday to Friday8.30am to 3pm
Weekends and public holidaysClosed

Public holidays

The Library is closed on Good Friday and Christmas Day. Opening hours for all other public holidays are:

LocationOpening hours
Reading RoomsClosed
Treasures Gallery and Exhibitions Gallery10am to 5pm
Bookshop9am to 5pm
bookplate café10am to 3pm
paperplate caféClosed

Public holidays 2017

  • Sunday 1 January 2017 - New Year's Day
  • Monday 2 January 2017 - Additional holiday for Sunday 1 January
  • Thursday 26 January 2017 - Australia Day
  • Monday 13 March 2017 - Canberra Day
  • Friday 14 April 2017 - Good Friday
  • Saturday 15 April 2017 - Easter Saturday
  • Sunday 16 April 2017 - Easter Sunday
  • Monday 17 April 2017 - Easter Monday
  • Tuesday 25 April 2017 - Anzac Day
  • Monday 12 June 2017 - Queen's Birthday
  • Monday 25 September 2017 - Family and Community Day
  • Monday 2 October 2017 - Labour Day
  • Monday 25 December 2017 - Christmas Day
  • Tuesday 26 December 2017 - Boxing Day